The Best Creepy Houses in Kid Lit

What is it about dark attics and steep staircases that makes you hold your breath with anticipation? The creepy house is the one of the best elements of scary stories. I’ve compiled this list of my favorite:

houseclock1Uncle Jonathan’s mansion in John Bellairs’s The House With a Clock in Its Walls. Not only did it have secret passages and hidden rooms, its walls also held a clock ticking down to Doomsday. That is my kind of story!holidayhouse

The Holiday House from Clive Barker’s The Thief of Always. This would be the perfect vacation house–Spring every morning and Christmastime every night.  Except for the rather monstrous fish bobbing in the pond outside…

12 Grimmauld Place from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, etc. Tended to by a demented elf with dreams of having his head mounted on the wall, and guarded by a screaming portrait, this filthy house actually held a very important secret treasure.

coraline-house1And my new favorite: The Pink Palace from Neil Gaiman’s Coraline.  A dreary, boring old house, it has one very creepy element: a tiny door that leads into a mirror world. Yes, a portal!

Have I left any out?

cheryliconParker Peevyhouse has toured the houses of many, many authors–and some of those houses were seriously creepy.

8 Comments

Filed under Parker Peevyhouse

8 responses to “The Best Creepy Houses in Kid Lit

  1. Ooooh, I loved that Pink Palace! Awesome!

    I loved every old house in the Nancy Drew books. Especially the ones with the secret tunnels and rooms.

  2. Parker Peevyhouse

    Sadly, I never read Nancy Drew.

  3. OMGOMGOMGOMG

    Is this the whole younger generation thing?

    Parker, you missed an important part of childhood. You know, it’s never too late.

    • Parker Peevyhouse

      Okay! I’ll go hit the library, I promise.

      Actually, ever time I see those Nancy Drew computer games in the store, it makes me wish I’d read the books.

      And it always makes me laugh that my mom claims she got the recipe for one of her favorite dishes from a Nancy Drew book.

  4. I don’t know if this counts or not but the Spence Academy dorm in The Sweet Far Thing, the third book in the Gemma Doyle Trilogy, when statues came alive and attacked. Great scene very creepy.

  5. Good one, Doret! I think it counts!

  6. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  7. 12 Grimmauld Place is definitely the creepiest!!

Leave a Reply

