Feed Your Brain

Because I am in luuurve with SCBWI (they helped me get my first book published) and because we can always learn, no matter what our phase in life, I recommend to our avid spec fic writers (and writers in general) a wonderful learning opportunity:
The 38th Annual SCBWI Summer Conference, August 7-10
Holly Black, Kathleen Duey,  and Ingrid Law are on faculty, ladies and gents!
Some of the workshops include:
Examining the Strange: The Basics of Fantasy Writing (Holly Black)
Writing Magic: From the Head to the Heart (Ingrid Law)
Transmutation: Books That Matter (Kathleen Duey)

Registration opened May 5, and the hotel rooms fill up fast, so if you’re interested, get cracking!

joiconJo Whittemore

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Feed Your Brain

  1. I so wish I was going to this. But alas, I went to the NYC conference this year, and I just can’t swing for another flight to a coast. But next summer, I am there.

  2. I wish I was too! Too many other things going on during that time. But you’ll have a blast!

  3. It is very hard to make all the conferences. I missed NYC WAH!!!

    For LA, keep track of the SCBWI livebloggers. All I know is that Alice Pope (who edits/creates CWIM) will be in charge. So it should be awesome.) Pester her for details here: http://cwim.blogspot.com/

    • Well…um…I certainly hope you make it to this one! Hehe. :o)
      And yes, Alice does an excellent job with her updates.

      • She has a fair-sized crew this time–she will be co-ordinating.

        I speak last, which is an astonishing (as in the old sense of “turn to stone”) responsibility. I am imagining the speech now. I was going to sing something as well as talk, but that seems too frivolous for that last slot…

        I missed last year to a deadline and felt like I had missed my annual family picnic.

  4. Kathleen, I hear you on the family vibe. I had to live vicariously through everyone else last year.
    Your speech will be awesome. Don’t sweat it!
    I mean, based on the success of your books, you MIGHT have a way with words. :o)
    But if you wanted to throw in some singing and softshoe dance, it couldn’t hurt.

  5. Do you sing harmonies? Just asking….

  6. Parker Peevyhouse

    I wish I were going. I went a few years ago and really liked it. So many people. And everyone I talked to was so nice.

    Sorry I’ll be missing your duet :)

Leave a Reply

