Whatcha readin’?

We all know that writers have to be readers, too. But we don’t all have to be crazy readers who go out and buy a zillion books and then stack them in the kitchen so that we can stare at them woefully and wonder when we will have time to read all of them.

We don’t *have* to be. But we are. Of course, by “we” I mean “I” and by “a zillion” I mean “a million zillion”.

Here are some of the books I’m staring at right now, unread, calling out to me:

THE BOOK THIEF by, Markus Zusak (I know I’m really late to the party with this one, but I’ve just started it. Not enough spaceships.)

(Kidding about the spaceships part.)

ESCAPE FROM EARTH: NEW ADVENTURES IN SPACE edited by, Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois (This one is a compilation of short stories by folks like Joe Haldeman and Orson Scott Card)

LIFE AS WE KNEW IT by, Susan Beth Pfeffer (Meteors! Earthquakes! Tidal waves! The end of the wooooorld!)

The last few books of the GREGOR THE OVERLANDER series by, Suzanne Collins (I loved the first books so much, and my oldest son is devouring them. I can’t wait to finish the series!)

PETER AND THE STARCATCHERS by, Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry (I bought this one and PETER AND THE SHADOW THIEVES) ages ago and just haven’t had the chance to sit down with them. One of these days….)

And of course there are the books I want to buy, but don’t have the time or the money (must get on the waiting list at the library): INCARCERON, LEVIATHAN, THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX, THE DEAD TOSSED WAVES, BATTLE ROYALE, and more more more.

Those are just a few of the books staring me down. What books are eyeing you? What have you read recently that I can add to my growing pile?

K.A. Holt, a reader (if only in her mind sometimes)

6 Comments

Filed under K. A. Holt

6 responses to “Whatcha readin’?

  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson, and The Other Side of the Island….all started, all not finished yet.

  2. I just finished Candor by Pam Bachorz…not SF, but dystopian and V E R Y cool.

  3. Jan

    Airborn by Colfer is a great steampunk read.

    The Case of the Case of the Mistaken Identity by Mac Barnett is hysterical! Librarians should read this.

    Thirteenth Child is an fascinating beginning to a 3 part trilogy by Patricia Wrede – an alternative Pioneer era America. For my 5th and 6th graders, this is an AU they can understand rather than the titles set in the Victorian or Napoleonic eras.

  4. It’s been a really bad reading month for me so far – too many other things are vying for my attention! But I’m currently reading Leviathan (a fun read) and excited to get to Incarceron which is patiently waiting in the sidelines.

  5. Natalie Aguirre

    I just read When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. It was a great story and a quick read. I’m reading Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner. Next up is Incarceron and I really want to read the last book in the Percy Jackson series.

  6. Currently reading Lips Touch Three Times. I recently really enjoyed The Demon’s Lexicon.

Leave a Reply

