Closure

***Don’t worry, I won’t post any spoilers.***

I watched the Lost series finale last night and I fully admit that today I’ve been walking around with a kind of glum feeling. Not because of what happened in the show, but because it’s over. Over over. It’s not unlike the feeling I had when I read the last Harry Potter book – a kind of tired, satiated but sad feeling that was wrapped in a happy bow of melancholy. (Some of you will say you can’t have a happy bow of melancholy, but some of you will know EXACTLY what I mean.)

So I’m sitting here today trying to figure out where to channel my Lost energy, and it made me wonder what other people do to find closure. Not just with TV shows, but with book series, too. Do you go back to the beginning and start over? Do you write fanfic? I fall into the camp of starting over from the beginning. When the X-Files ended, I couldn’t wait to go back to the beginning. Same with Harry Potter. My son and I are almost finished with the Percy Jackson series and I know he’ll go back to the beginning.

What about you? How do you cope when a favorite series ends? (Beside moping and eating chocolate?)

K.A. Holt is possibly, but not fully admitting to, moping and eating chocolate

5 Comments

Filed under K. A. Holt

5 responses to “Closure

  1. Most of the series I love tend to get canceled halfway through season one. I just find something else to interest me. With reading, I’ve found very few series that I can re-read and still enjoy. Although the older I get, the less I can remember and the more enjoyable the stories are.

  2. LaWanica

    Aw, a melancholy bow…something that Eeyore would have worn on his way out of the Hundred Acre Wood. I completely understand the feeling. The final scenes of LOST had me crying like a baby but I’m content with it being lost in TV land forever. The last finale I got choked up about was Battlestar Galactica, mostly because I wouldn’t have anything to watch on Sunday nights. To talk about on Monday morning at work. To anticipate the rest of the week. Books and TV shows weave into our lives and letting go is like a death as cliched as that may be. I guess the beauty of endings are beginnings, new stories and characters to make room for, and I can’t wait to see what new TV or book fills the LOST void.

  3. I think the best medicine is to find another book/series you adore. With TV, you’re pretty limited to what’s on — but with books, the library’s the limit. Read some new authors and find someone who makes you want to read their whole body of work! My current nominee would probably be Neil Gaiman.

    Or there’s always the “comfort” reading of something you loved a long while ago and is just about guaranteed to be enjoyable again … Tolkien, LeGuin, L’Engle, etc…

    Or if all else fails (or maybe this recommendation should be higher) — write something you’ll love as much as what’s lost! ;)

  4. I certainly felt a melancholy bow for Harry Potter…and expect another one for Mockingjay.

    Not so much for Lost, though…that’s an example of a story that I just *wanted* to end, and not in a good way. The ending of Lost reminded me of the quote, “This is the way the world ends…not with a bang but a whimper.”

  5. Parker Peevyhouse

    I’m tempted to go back and watch Season 1 of LOST. That season was so cool! Then maybe I’ll write my own ending for the rest of the show.

    I agree with Joni, though, that you have to move onto something new. Something very different so that you won’t get caught up in the feeling that nothing is as good as the series you just finished.

    When Harry Potter ended, I tried reading some similar series, like Septimus Heap, but found that everything suffered by comparison. Delving into a completely different series, like Hunger Games, works better.

Leave a Reply

