Books into Movies – JURASSIC PARK

Okay, so I think much of the debate this week will be on the fact that the majority of the time books are far better than the movies made. I’d like to point out one I think is the exact opposite: JURASSIC PARK.

First the disclaimer – I know this is not MG or YA.

Anyway, I saw the movie first. And there was nothing like the special effects and action and music and imagery of this movie. I loved it, felt emotions along with the characters, felt the ending tied up neatly. It was perfect. Even now, 20 years later, I still enjoy watching the movie with my kids.

I went on a Michael Crichton kick not too long after the JURASSIC PARK movie came out where I read everything he’d written to date. This was about the same time most of his books were being made into movies. I read SPHERE and CONGO and TIMELINE and everything else.

SPHERE and CONGO were way better books than movies. TIMELINE felt like it was written to be a movie (which it probably was). But even after reading JURASSIC PARK, I still enjoyed the movie far more.

Anyone else with me on this one? And why do you think this was the case?

pjhoover_casual1 PJ Hoover wants to drive a JURASSIC PARK Jeep.

8 Comments

Filed under P. J. Hoover

8 responses to “Books into Movies – JURASSIC PARK

  1. This is one of the few instances where I saw the movie and never read the book *hangs head in shame* But I did love the movie!

    I remember reading Sphere one evening in a dark house and being totally creeped out. Now I guess I need to read Jurassic Park.

  2. Parker Peevyhouse

    I wonder if the fact that you saw the movie first has anything to do with it? But I’ve never read the book, so I don’t know what the differences are. Is the movie more streamlined, more exciting?

    I loved reading SPHERE–what a creepy novel! The film didn’t quite live up to it, but I couldn’t say why.

  3. Sterling M.

    I liked the book better just because of the raptor nest at the end. If the movie had put that in the movie, I would say movie, but they didn’t so its the book.

  4. Kelsey

    I’ve seen the movie and read the book and have always felt the movie was MUCH better. I wasn’t a fan of Crichton’s writing style, its very simplistic and “cold”. I didn’t enjoy that the first 100 pages of the book are about a carcass they find.

    The movie itself made breakthroughs in cg animation and is visually stunning. Plus, you cant go wrong with a soundtrack by John Williams.

  5. Taylor S.

    I’d have to disagree with this one. I too saw the movie first and really thought it was the greatest movie in the history of film. I only recently read the book, I was completely taken aback by how unlike these movies were! I completely fell in love with this book and I’m continuing to read Crichton’s work.

  6. Okay, I absolutely disagree with you, 100%! While the movie probably *is* one of the best movies, ever made, the novel is so much better! I mean, come on, let’s face it: More action, more violence, more scientific information, better dinosaurs, better characters, an overall more complicated plot… the list just goes on, and on, and on, and on! The book is much better than the movie, Folks! Now, I have just one more last, final message, for you: READ IT!

  7. RAWR

    Loved both the book and the movie. I have been a fan of Crichton’s work since day one! What made the movie good was that Spielberg actually paid Crichton to help adapt the book in to a film so that it wasn’t so gory and could be available to the masses. (Not just rated R)
    The book I don’t think was cold or boring. He wrote it like it needed to be. It was sci-fi horror. I absolutely LOVE the detail that goes into explaining the genetics and DNA and how at the end there are crops being eaten by a strange animal… crops rich in Lysine. In a sci-fi novel you HAVE to have detail and lots of it! The movie was good because for the most part it DID stick to the novel except they killed off the annoying characters and saved the cool ones instead. (in the book the laywer and raptor guy survive while Hammond and Malcolm die). So I was happy that the movie kept both of those guys alive. But yeah I think both the book and movie were great, I just like the book a bit more because of the detail and there was more horror and such.

  8. I also watched the movie first. I just recently read the book. I love both! I just wrote a little blog about it (www.mindofthemoviedame.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

