I just want to write

Imagine me, standing here in front of you, with a spangly leotard and a Pat Benatar headband. Instead of splaying my fingers in a dazzling display of jazz hands, and announcing, “I just want to DANCE,” I am telling you right now, “I just want to WRITE.”

I don’t want to talk about craft, I don’t want to talk about outlines, I don’t want to talk about trends or the industry or who’s buying what. I just want to write. Like, channel my inner third grader, sit down with a pencil and have.at.it.

This isn’t to say that I don’t respect blogs and books about craft, or that people enjoy and benefit from these things, but sometimes, I feel like I get bogged down by it. I spend too much time reading and learning and talking about writing and I find that I don’t have enough time to actually WRITE.

I wonder if spec fic writers are more susceptible to overanalyzing their work? What do you think? Do any of you guys feel paralyzed by talking about craft too much?

Let me know what you think – I’m off to write!

KA Holt is not actually wearing a headband, but we can all pretend.

7 Comments

Filed under K. A. Holt

7 responses to “I just want to write

  1. Natalie Aguirre

    Yes I agree. I work full time but try to have a web presence by reading and commenting on blogs. Many days I spend more time on that than on writing. I try to limit it so I do get time to write. But I still spend too much time on blogs.

  2. Jane Yolen, who has published over 100 books says, “Butt on
    chair every day.” Good advice.
    Keep writing and good luck.
    e.t.

  3. I can identify with the feeling, and of course we all know the solution.

    Part of the problem is that more and more authors are expected to have a “web presence.” That is, relentless self-promotion in the form of Twitter feeds, Facebook updates, blogs (and blog comments), and more.

    And basically I think two things:

    1) It’s very possibly a bunch of BS; and
    2) You have to figure out who you are and act accordingly. Do it because you enjoy it, blog because it’s a positive outlet for you. Or not.

    I don’t believe a web presence matters in the least if you don’t write great books. Writing the books, that’s the real highwire work — and it can only be done without a net!

  4. You’re so right, there’s no net. Just cross the trapeze.

  5. Definitely-especially when people start talking about marketing. I feel like a slug being sprinkled with salt. Oh, no, what’s happened to being a writer!

  6. i am happy becaues i have too for my mom. i am a man now you young now nick but not later.i now becaues i usetoo be longer.

Leave a Reply

