Interview with Christopher Golden

CE: Today I’m chatting with Christopher Golden. Christopher, please tell us about your books.

CG:  I’ve been a full time writer since 1992, but my latest, WHEN ROSE WAKES, is truly one of my favorites.  It’s a teen urban fantasy about a girl who wakes up in a hospital in Boston to find that she’s been in a coma for years, and she has lost her memory of everything except her two aunts, who are also her guardians.  As she tries to build a new life, hoping for her memories to return, she is menaced by a sinister figure and strange dreams, and slowly begins to wonder if she might actually BE the Sleeping Beauty of legend.

WHEN ROSE WAKES cover

I’m also really pleased that my first novel, OF SAINTS AND SHADOWS, has recently been reprinted, and the rest of that series (the Peter Octavian novels) are being reprinted as well, leading up to the release of a brand new installment in the series.

And my new YA novel with Tim Lebbon, THE SECRET JOURNEYS OF JACK LONDON: THE WILD is coming out March 1st, and is currently in development as a movie at Fox.
Why did you choose to write in this genre? What inspires you?

CG:  I’ve always loved fantasy and horror and folklore.  I find inspiration in the people around me, in dreams, in mythology and folklore, and in the strange synchronicities that seem to pop up in life.  As far as writing in this genre, it was never really a choice.  I like things that are dark and weird, but I also love stories that are about people, and the way we interact, and how much we depend upon each other.
CE: Are there special challenges in writing speculative fiction?

CG:  For someone wired like me, the challenge would be in writing something entirely mainstream.  Yes, there are days that are harder than others, and times when the spark isn’t as easy to find, but those days only make the others more rewarding.

The Secret Journeys of Jack London

CE: Have you found any special challenges in finding publishers? In reaching readers?

CG:  Always.  Publishing is a difficult business, now more so than ever.  It is constantly in flux, and writers have to adapt to the changes or wither.  But I’ve been incredibly fortunate to work with so many wonderful editors and publishers.  As for reaching readers, with every passing year, publishers seem to rely more and more on the efforts of the author.  Facebook and Twitter and blogs and online interviews are all a huge part of reaching out to current readers and potential future readers.

CE: If you could live in a sci-fi or fantasy world, which would it be? Why?

CG:  To fantasize for a moment, sure.  I’d love to explore the Two Kingdoms, the setting of my dark fantasy trilogy THE VEIL, because it contains elements of so many mythologies and legends.  But in reality, the answer would have to be no.  I’m a father and a husband first, always, and most of the places I’ve created would be too dangerous for me to bring my family into.

CE: What would readers find surprising or interesting about you?

CG:  I’m a theatre guy.  In high school and college I performed in musicals, and in the last few years I’ve directed shows at my kids’ school.  I’ve seen RENT four times, WICKED three times, and more.  I also sang in a rock cover band all through high school.

Learn more about Christopher at his website.

1 Comment

Filed under Interviews

One response to “Interview with Christopher Golden

  1. Natalie Aguirre

    Great interview. When Rose Wakes sounds really cool. I’ll add it to my list of books to read. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

